Paris

3 February 2016

Next

Lot 101

Ferrari F1 046/2 Engine, 1997, No. 354

Sold for €40.950


730 bhp, 2,998 cc DOHC 40-valve dry-sump 75-degree V-10 engine with Magneti Marelli indirect electronic fuel injection.

The end of the 1990s would prove to be Ferrari’s return to the forefront of Formula 1. In 1996, Michael Schumacher would join the Scuderia, and one year later he was united by two of the sport’s greatest engineering minds, Rory Byrne and Ross Brawn. Schumacher finished 3rd in the Drivers’ Championship that year and had high hopes for the 1997 season. That year the Scuderia would win five races with Schumacher behind the wheel. He entered the final race of the year with a single point advantage over season-long rival Jacques Villeneuve. Unfortunately, the European Grand Prix did not finish as Schumacher and Ferrari had hoped, with Villeneuve ultimately taking the title. Regardless, the season was a resounding success for Ferrari and the starting point for their dominance of Formula 1.





Moteur V10 à 75°, 2 998 cm3, 2 ACT par banc, 40 soupapes, 730 ch, carter sec, injection électronique indirecte Magneti Marelli.

La fin des années 1990 voit Ferrari revenir au premier plan de la Formule 1. En 1996, Michael Schumacher intègre la Scuderia et, un an plus tard, il est rejoint par deux des ingénieurs les plus brillants du sport automobile, Rory Byrne et Ross Brawn. Schumacher termine cette saison à la troisième place du Championnat du monde des pilotes et nourrit de grands espoirs pour la saison 1997. Il y franchit cinq fois en tête la ligne d'arrivée au volant de sa Ferrari et prend le départ de la dernière course avec un seul point d'avance sur son rival Jacques Villeneuve. Finalement, le Grand Prix d'Europe ne se termine pas comme Schumacher et Ferrari l'ont espéré, et c'est Villeneuve qui s'attribue le titre mondial. Quoi qu'il en soit, cette saison traduit pour Ferrari un énorme succès et marque le début de la domination de la marque en Formule 1.

Alexander Weaver

aweaver@rmsothebys.com

+1 864 313 6844
California, United States

Alexander Weaver joined RM Sotheby’s in 2011 as a Car Specialist after graduating from Furman University in South Carolina. Born... read more

Augustin Sabatié-Garat

asabatie-garat@rmsothebys.com

+44 (0) 74 1511 4179
United Kingdom

Augustin Sabatié-Garat joined RM Europe in 2012 as a Car Specialist after more than a decade in the collector car hobby. Gradua... read more

Barney Ruprecht

bruprecht@rmsothebys.com

+1 203 912 7168
Ontario, Canada

Barney’s interest in classic cars began at an early age after being introduced to his father’s all-original 1965 Porsche 911. Barney l... read more

David Swig

dswig@rmsothebys.com

+1 415 302 2247
California, United States

David Swig joined RM Sotheby’s West Coast division as a Car Specialist in May 2015. David is a life-long automobile enthusi... read more

Don Rose

drose@rmsothebys.com

+1 617 513 0388
United States

Don joined RM in 2006 after several years of professionally trading sports and classic cars, and after earning a reputation as a noted... read more

Donnie Gould

dgould@rmsothebys.com

+1 954 566 2209
Florida, United States

Donnie Gould joined the RM team in 2002 as a partner and Car Specialist after more than two decades in the vintage automobile auction ... read more

Gord Duff

gduff@rmsothebys.com

+1 519 352 4575
Ontario, Canada

Gord Duff began his journey with RM Sotheby’s in 1998. Since then, he has gained an intimate knowledge of a variety of marques a... read more

Jake Auerbach

jauerbach@rmsothebys.com

+1 310 559 4575
California, United States

Jake Auerbach got his start in the automotive industry at an early age, spending his summers during high school working at a classic c... read more

Kurt Forry

kforry@rmsothebys.com

+1 717 623 1638
California, United States

Having worked for Bonhams’ Automobilia department for over 10 years, Kurt Forry joined RM Sotheby’s with more than a decad... read more

Matt Malamut

mmalamut@rmsothebys.com

+1 805 231 6410
California, United States

A long-time car enthusiast and Southern California native, Matt studied Automotive Technology at San Diego Miramar College and complet... read more

Michael Squire

msquire@rmsothebys.com

+44 (0) 20 7851 7070
United Kingdom

Michael Squire joined RM Sotheby’s European Division in the summer of 2016. He comes to RM with a prestigious racing background ... read more

Mike Fairbairn

mfairbairn@rmsothebys.com

+1 519 352 4575
Ontario, Canada

As one of the three founding partners of RM Sotheby’s, Mike has a long-standing interest in the classic car industry. Graduating... read more

Oliver Camelin

ocamelin@rmsothebys.com

+44 (0) 75 0110 7447
United Kingdom

With an extensive background in exotic sports car history and sales, a particular passion for American curves, and fluency in three la... read more

Paul Darvill

pdarvill@rmsothebys.com

+44 (0) 20 7851 7070
United Kingdom

Paul Darvill joined the RM Sotheby’s European team at the beginning of 2015. Paul holds a degree in French and Politics from the... read more

Pete Fisher

pfisher@rmsothebys.com

+1 519 784 9300
Ontario, Canada

Pete Fisher was first introduced to antique cars in high school, working for Classic Coachworks in his hometown of Blenheim, Ontario. ... read more

Shelby Myers

smyers@rmsothebys.com

+1 310 559 4575
California, United States

Shelby Myers grew up with the classic car industry infused into every aspect of his life. He had the unique opportunity to watch the R... read more

Tonnie Van der Velden

tvandervelden@rmsothebys.com

+31 653 84 19 60
United Kingdom

Tonnie Van der Velden joined RM Sotheby’s European division in September 2015 as a Car Specialist. A lifelong enthusiast, Tonnie... read more