Villa Erba

27 May 2017

Moto-Icons: From Café Racer to the Superbike

Previous Next

Lot 120

1963 Norton Manx 30M

  • Frame no. 102784

Sold for €23.400

Documents: Bill of Sale


Please note that this lot is sold on a Bill of Sale.

  • Believed to be Jack Ahearn’s winning ride from the 1964 Finnish GP
  • Extensively raced professionally and privately
  • Restored by Summerfield Engineering in 1994


The Norton Manx 30M on offer is believed to have been owned by Jack Ahearn, winner of the 1964 Finnish Grand Prix and runner-up to that year’s World Championship. Arguably the world’s best privateer racer ever, having been beaten largely by only Works racers during his 50-year career.

After passing out of Ahearn’s hands, the Norton went on to another racer who participated in the 1967 Manx GP. Finally sold in 1994 to a collector, the Manx was entirely restored to its glory days by Summerfield Engineering. Although the frame had to be partially replaced during restoration, the section with the correct frame number survives. On offer here is one of the most legendary racing motorcycles of the last century.





• Si reputa essere la moto usata da Jack Ahearn per vincere il GP di Finlandia del 1964
• Intensa attività sportiva, sia come ufficiale sia con privati
• Restaurata dalla Summerfield Enginnering nel 1994

La Norton Manx 30M offerta in vendita si crede sia quella appartenuta a Jack Ahearn, vincitore del Gran Premio di Finlandia del 1964 ed uno dei principali pretendenti al titolo di quell’anno. Ahearn è sicuramente il miglior pilota privato di sempre, essendo stato battuto, durante i suoi 50 anni di carriera, praticamente solo dai piloti ufficiali.

Dopo essere stata ceduta da Ahearn, la Norton è stata acquistata da un altro corridore che l’ha utilizzata nel Manx GP del 1967. Venduta ad un collezionista nel 1994, la Manx è stata totalmente restaurata dalla Summerfield Engineering, che l’ha riportata agli splendori originali. Sebbene alcune parti del telaio abbiano dovuto essere sostituite durante i lavori di restauro, la parte che riporta il corretto numero di telaio è ancora al suo posto. In vendita una delle più leggendariie moto da corsa del secolo scorso.

Alexander Weaver

aweaver@rmsothebys.com

+1 864 313 6844
California, United States

Alexander Weaver joined RM Sotheby’s in 2011 as a Car Specialist after graduating from Furman University in South Carolina. Born... read more

Augustin Sabatié-Garat

asabatie-garat@rmsothebys.com

+44 (0) 74 1511 4179
United Kingdom

Augustin Sabatié-Garat joined RM Europe in 2012 as a Car Specialist after more than a decade in the collector car hobby. Gradua... read more

Barney Ruprecht

bruprecht@rmsothebys.com

+1 203 912 7168
Ontario, Canada

Barney’s interest in classic cars began at an early age after being introduced to his father’s all-original 1965 Porsche 911. Barney l... read more

Cameron Smyth

csmyth@rmsothebys.com

+1 519 352 4575
Ontario, Canada

Cameron Smyth joined RM Sotheby’s as a Car Specialist in 2015, working out of our corporate office and providing assistance on c... read more

David Swig

dswig@rmsothebys.com

+1 415 302 2247
California, United States

David Swig joined RM Sotheby’s West Coast division as a Car Specialist in May 2015. David is a life-long automobile enthusi... read more

Don Rose

drose@rmsothebys.com

+1 617 513 0388
United States

Don joined RM in 2006 after several years of professionally trading sports and classic cars, and after earning a reputation as a noted... read more

Donnie Gould

dgould@rmsothebys.com

+1 954 566 2209
Florida, United States

Donnie Gould joined the RM team in 2002 as a partner and Car Specialist after more than two decades in the vintage automobile auction ... read more

Gord Duff

gduff@rmsothebys.com

+1 519 352 4575
Ontario, Canada

Gord Duff began his journey with RM Sotheby’s in 1998. Since then, he has gained an intimate knowledge of a variety of marques a... read more

Jake Auerbach

jauerbach@rmsothebys.com

+1 310 559 4575
California, United States

Jake Auerbach got his start in the automotive industry at an early age, spending his summers during high school working at a classic c... read more

Kurt Forry

kforry@rmsothebys.com

+1 717 623 1638
California, United States

Having worked for Bonhams’ Automobilia department for over 10 years, Kurt Forry joined RM Sotheby’s with more than a decad... read more

Matt Malamut

mmalamut@rmsothebys.com

+1 805 231 6410
California, United States

A long-time car enthusiast and Southern California native, Matt studied Automotive Technology at San Diego Miramar College and complet... read more

Michael Squire

msquire@rmsothebys.com

+44 (0) 20 7851 7070
United Kingdom

Michael Squire joined RM Sotheby’s European Division in the summer of 2016. He comes to RM with a prestigious racing background ... read more

Mike Fairbairn

mfairbairn@rmsothebys.com

+1 519 352 4575
Ontario, Canada

As one of the three founding partners of RM Sotheby’s, Mike has a long-standing interest in the classic car industry. Graduating... read more

Oliver Camelin

ocamelin@rmsothebys.com

+44 (0) 75 0110 7447
United Kingdom

With an extensive background in exotic sports car history and sales, a particular passion for American curves, and fluency in three la... read more

Paul Darvill

pdarvill@rmsothebys.com

+44 (0) 20 7851 7070
United Kingdom

Paul Darvill joined the RM Sotheby’s European team at the beginning of 2015. Paul holds a degree in French and Politics from the... read more

Pete Fisher

pfisher@rmsothebys.com

+1 519 784 9300
Ontario, Canada

Pete Fisher was first introduced to antique cars in high school, working for Classic Coachworks in his hometown of Blenheim, Ontario. ... read more

Shelby Myers

smyers@rmsothebys.com

+1 310 559 4575
California, United States

Shelby Myers grew up with the classic car industry infused into every aspect of his life. He had the unique opportunity to watch the R... read more

Tonnie Van der Velden

tvandervelden@rmsothebys.com

+31 653 84 19 60
United Kingdom

Tonnie Van der Velden joined RM Sotheby’s European division in September 2015 as a Car Specialist. A lifelong enthusiast, Tonnie... read more