Villa Erba

27 May 2017

Moto-Icons: From Café Racer to the Superbike

Previous Next

Lot 105

1962 BSA A10 Rocket Gold Star Scrambler

  • Frame no. GA10 319
  • Engine no. DA10R 7396

Sold for €15.210

Documents: Proof of EC Taxes Paid


  • One of 272 specially tuned off-road scramblers
  • Very early example
  • Recorded by the BSA Owners Club


A stunning example of one of the off-road competition versions of the standard Rocket Gold Star, frame number 319 has the characteristic full race camshaft, and straight-through exhaust system – thought to be one of the most beautiful set of pipes ever found on a motorcycle.

This Rocket Gold Star is recorded by the BSA Owners Club in Britain as being dispatched from the factory with engine number 7396 on 8 June 1962. The BSA travelled to the United States and is recorded against Vince Neal of California, before being owned by Bob Hovden in 1991, also in the United States. The present owner bought the A10 RGS in 2013 and has continued to maintain it in excellent condition.





• Uno dei 272 scrambler fuoristrada originariamente preparati
• Uno dei primi esemplari
• Registrato dal BSA Owners Club

Un meraviglioso esemplare di una delle versioni fuoristrada da competizione derivata da una normale Rocket Gold Star, la moto con telaio numero 319 ha il caratteristico albero a camme da corsa ed uno scarico, realizzato con quello che viene unanimamente considerato il più bel intreccio di tubi mai visto su una motocicletta, aperto.

Questa Rocket Gold Star è registrata dal BSA Owners Club in Gran Bretagna e risulta essere stata spedita dalla fabbrica, con il numero motore 7396, l'8 giugno 1962. Spedita negli Stati Uniti, la BSA è stata registrata a nome del californiano Vince Neal, prima di diventare proprietà di Bob Hovden nel 1991, rimanendo sempre negli USA. L'attuale proprietario ha acquistato l'A10 RGS nel 2013 e l’ha mantenuta sempre in ottime condizioni.

Addendum

Please note that this motorcycle is titled as 1964, which is the initial year of registration. Speak to an RM Sotheby's administration representative for further information.

Si prega di notare che questa motocicletta è indicata nei documenti di circolazione come 1964, che è l’anno di prima immatricolazione. Per qualsiasi ulteriore informazione, contattare uno degli specialisti di RM-Sotheby’s

Alexander Weaver

aweaver@rmsothebys.com

+1 864 313 6844
California, United States

Alexander Weaver joined RM Sotheby’s in 2011 as a Car Specialist after graduating from Furman University in South Carolina. Born... read more

Augustin Sabatié-Garat

asabatie-garat@rmsothebys.com

+44 (0) 74 1511 4179
United Kingdom

Augustin Sabatié-Garat joined RM Europe in 2012 as a Car Specialist after more than a decade in the collector car hobby. Gradua... read more

Barney Ruprecht

bruprecht@rmsothebys.com

+1 203 912 7168
Ontario, Canada

Barney’s interest in classic cars began at an early age after being introduced to his father’s all-original 1965 Porsche 911. Barney l... read more

Cameron Smyth

csmyth@rmsothebys.com

+1 519 352 4575
Ontario, Canada

Cameron Smyth joined RM Sotheby’s as a Car Specialist in 2015, working out of our corporate office and providing assistance on c... read more

David Swig

dswig@rmsothebys.com

+1 415 302 2247
California, United States

David Swig joined RM Sotheby’s West Coast division as a Car Specialist in May 2015. David is a life-long automobile enthusi... read more

Don Rose

drose@rmsothebys.com

+1 617 513 0388
United States

Don joined RM in 2006 after several years of professionally trading sports and classic cars, and after earning a reputation as a noted... read more

Donnie Gould

dgould@rmsothebys.com

+1 954 566 2209
Florida, United States

Donnie Gould joined the RM team in 2002 as a partner and Car Specialist after more than two decades in the vintage automobile auction ... read more

Gord Duff

gduff@rmsothebys.com

+1 519 352 4575
Ontario, Canada

Gord Duff began his journey with RM Sotheby’s in 1998. Since then, he has gained an intimate knowledge of a variety of marques a... read more

Jake Auerbach

jauerbach@rmsothebys.com

+1 310 559 4575
California, United States

Jake Auerbach got his start in the automotive industry at an early age, spending his summers during high school working at a classic c... read more

Kurt Forry

kforry@rmsothebys.com

+1 717 623 1638
California, United States

Having worked for Bonhams’ Automobilia department for over 10 years, Kurt Forry joined RM Sotheby’s with more than a decad... read more

Matt Malamut

mmalamut@rmsothebys.com

+1 805 231 6410
California, United States

A long-time car enthusiast and Southern California native, Matt studied Automotive Technology at San Diego Miramar College and complet... read more

Michael Squire

msquire@rmsothebys.com

+44 (0) 20 7851 7070
United Kingdom

Michael Squire joined RM Sotheby’s European Division in the summer of 2016. He comes to RM with a prestigious racing background ... read more

Mike Fairbairn

mfairbairn@rmsothebys.com

+1 519 352 4575
Ontario, Canada

As one of the three founding partners of RM Sotheby’s, Mike has a long-standing interest in the classic car industry. Graduating... read more

Oliver Camelin

ocamelin@rmsothebys.com

+44 (0) 75 0110 7447
United Kingdom

With an extensive background in exotic sports car history and sales, a particular passion for American curves, and fluency in three la... read more

Paul Darvill

pdarvill@rmsothebys.com

+44 (0) 20 7851 7070
United Kingdom

Paul Darvill joined the RM Sotheby’s European team at the beginning of 2015. Paul holds a degree in French and Politics from the... read more

Pete Fisher

pfisher@rmsothebys.com

+1 519 784 9300
Ontario, Canada

Pete Fisher was first introduced to antique cars in high school, working for Classic Coachworks in his hometown of Blenheim, Ontario. ... read more

Shelby Myers

smyers@rmsothebys.com

+1 310 559 4575
California, United States

Shelby Myers grew up with the classic car industry infused into every aspect of his life. He had the unique opportunity to watch the R... read more

Tonnie Van der Velden

tvandervelden@rmsothebys.com

+31 653 84 19 60
United Kingdom

Tonnie Van der Velden joined RM Sotheby’s European division in September 2015 as a Car Specialist. A lifelong enthusiast, Tonnie... read more