Villa Erba

27 May 2017

Moto-Icons: From Café Racer to the Superbike

Previous Next

Lot 108

1937 Zündapp K800

  • Frame no. 193494
  • Engine no. 193494

Sold for €29.250

Documents: German Fahrzeugbrief


  • One of only 550 produced
  • Matching-numbers example with original frame and engine
  • Engine restored in 2014, with extreme care to preserve originality


The Zündapp K800 was an innovative design, seen in the horizontally opposed four-cylinder engine with shaft drive. Power output is 26 horsepower, with rear-wheel power driven by a four-speed manual transmission. Used throughout the Second World War, Zündapp K800s are considered among the most beautiful of the early pre-war motorcycles.

Offered here is a matching-numbers example, recently restored by a previous owner. All parts are believed to be original, and the K800 presents in excellent condition. Although the early history is unknown, records of the previous German owner are included on file, notably its old German registration. Beautifully restored and in excellent condition, this Zündapp is not one to overlook.





• Uno dei soli 550 esemplari prodotti
• Esemplare completamente “matching number” con telaio e motore originali
• Motore restaurato nel 2014, con la massima attenzione alla preservazione dell’originalità

La Zündapp K800 è stato un disegno innovativo applicato al motore a 4 cilindri contrapposti con trasmissione a cardano. La potenza massima è di 26 cavalli, con la ruote posteriore mossa tramite un cambio a 4 rapporti Usata durante tutta la seconda guerra mondiale,la Zündapp K800 è considerata tra le più belle moto prodotte negli anni immediatamente antecedenti lo scoppio della guerra.

Offerto in vendità è un esemplare di K800 ancora completamente composto dalle sue componenti originali, con tutti i dovuti numeri corretti, che si presenta benissimo.Sebbene non si conosca la sua storia iniziale, i documenti del precedente proprietario tedesco sono inclusi e comprendono la vecchia targa tedesca. Ben restaurata ed in eccellenti condizioni, questa è
Zündapp da non farsi scappare.

Alexander Weaver

aweaver@rmsothebys.com

+1 864 313 6844
California, United States

Alexander Weaver joined RM Sotheby’s in 2011 as a Car Specialist after graduating from Furman University in South Carolina. Born... read more

Augustin Sabatié-Garat

asabatie-garat@rmsothebys.com

+44 (0) 74 1511 4179
United Kingdom

Augustin Sabatié-Garat joined RM Europe in 2012 as a Car Specialist after more than a decade in the collector car hobby. Gradua... read more

Barney Ruprecht

bruprecht@rmsothebys.com

+1 203 912 7168
Ontario, Canada

Barney’s interest in classic cars began at an early age after being introduced to his father’s all-original 1965 Porsche 911. Barney l... read more

Cameron Smyth

csmyth@rmsothebys.com

+1 519 352 4575
Ontario, Canada

Cameron Smyth joined RM Sotheby’s as a Car Specialist in 2015, working out of our corporate office and providing assistance on c... read more

David Swig

dswig@rmsothebys.com

+1 415 302 2247
California, United States

David Swig joined RM Sotheby’s West Coast division as a Car Specialist in May 2015. David is a life-long automobile enthusi... read more

Don Rose

drose@rmsothebys.com

+1 617 513 0388
United States

Don joined RM in 2006 after several years of professionally trading sports and classic cars, and after earning a reputation as a noted... read more

Donnie Gould

dgould@rmsothebys.com

+1 954 566 2209
Florida, United States

Donnie Gould joined the RM team in 2002 as a partner and Car Specialist after more than two decades in the vintage automobile auction ... read more

Gord Duff

gduff@rmsothebys.com

+1 519 352 4575
Ontario, Canada

Gord Duff began his journey with RM Sotheby’s in 1998. Since then, he has gained an intimate knowledge of a variety of marques a... read more

Jake Auerbach

jauerbach@rmsothebys.com

+1 310 559 4575
California, United States

Jake Auerbach got his start in the automotive industry at an early age, spending his summers during high school working at a classic c... read more

Kurt Forry

kforry@rmsothebys.com

+1 717 623 1638
California, United States

Having worked for Bonhams’ Automobilia department for over 10 years, Kurt Forry joined RM Sotheby’s with more than a decad... read more

Matt Malamut

mmalamut@rmsothebys.com

+1 805 231 6410
California, United States

A long-time car enthusiast and Southern California native, Matt studied Automotive Technology at San Diego Miramar College and complet... read more

Michael Squire

msquire@rmsothebys.com

+44 (0) 20 7851 7070
United Kingdom

Michael Squire joined RM Sotheby’s European Division in the summer of 2016. He comes to RM with a prestigious racing background ... read more

Mike Fairbairn

mfairbairn@rmsothebys.com

+1 519 352 4575
Ontario, Canada

As one of the three founding partners of RM Sotheby’s, Mike has a long-standing interest in the classic car industry. Graduating... read more

Oliver Camelin

ocamelin@rmsothebys.com

+44 (0) 75 0110 7447
United Kingdom

With an extensive background in exotic sports car history and sales, a particular passion for American curves, and fluency in three la... read more

Paul Darvill

pdarvill@rmsothebys.com

+44 (0) 20 7851 7070
United Kingdom

Paul Darvill joined the RM Sotheby’s European team at the beginning of 2015. Paul holds a degree in French and Politics from the... read more

Pete Fisher

pfisher@rmsothebys.com

+1 519 784 9300
Ontario, Canada

Pete Fisher was first introduced to antique cars in high school, working for Classic Coachworks in his hometown of Blenheim, Ontario. ... read more

Shelby Myers

smyers@rmsothebys.com

+1 310 559 4575
California, United States

Shelby Myers grew up with the classic car industry infused into every aspect of his life. He had the unique opportunity to watch the R... read more

Tonnie Van der Velden

tvandervelden@rmsothebys.com

+31 653 84 19 60
United Kingdom

Tonnie Van der Velden joined RM Sotheby’s European division in September 2015 as a Car Specialist. A lifelong enthusiast, Tonnie... read more