Monterey

18-19 August 2017

Offered from the Ferrari Performance Collection

2004 Ferrari 360 Challenge Stradale

  • Chassis no. ZFFDU57A040139182

$275,000 - $325,000

Without Reserve


  • One of approximately 378 examples specified for the United States
  • Currently showing just 3,847 miles
  • Formerly owned by Always Evolving founder Roger Rodas
  • Recent timing belt service and new Pirelli tires
  • Minimally driven and beautifully maintained


Based upon the popular 360 Modena, the Challenge Stradale saw a vast number of changes to increase performance and driving excitement. One hundred and ten kilograms of weight were shed through the prolific use of aluminium and carbon fiber. The interior was stripped of creature comforts, even carpeting, in an effort to increase performance. Total output was raised to 425 bhp, and the car’s paddle-shift transmission shift-times were improved via new software. The Challenge Stradale utilized carbon-ceramic brakes as standard, drastically improving both handling and braking performance by eliminating brake fade and shedding 16 kilograms of weight.

Delivered in October 2004, chassis number 139182 was appointed with carbon fiber racing seats and a leather headliner, and finished with red-painted brake calipers, and a three-colored Italian racing stripe over traditional rosso corsa. The Ferrari was soon acquired by Roger Rodas, the founder of Always Evolving in Valencia, California, and a regular competitor in various racing series, as well as a passionate collector and enthusiast. Following Rodas’ untimely passing, the car soon passed into new ownership.

In March, the consignor submitted the Stradale to Ferrari of Beverly Hills for service, including an annual fluid service and a major timing belt service. The windshield was replaced and new Pirelli P Zero Corsa tires were mounted on the handsome 14-spoke alloy wheels.

Currently showing 3,847 miles, this minimally raced and beautifully maintained Challenge Stradale is well prepared for its next caretaker. It is accompanied by manuals and a tool kit, offering its next owner scintillating hot laps at track events, or the opportunity to present with pride at FCA events.

Please contact our exclusive automotive transportation partner, Reliable Carriers, for a shipping quote or any other information on the transport of this vehicle.

Alexander Weaver

aweaver@rmsothebys.com

+1 864 313 6844
California, United States

Alexander Weaver joined RM Sotheby’s in 2011 as a Car Specialist after graduating from Furman University in South Carolina. Born... read more

Augustin Sabatié-Garat

asabatie-garat@rmsothebys.com

+44 (0) 74 1511 4179
United Kingdom

Augustin Sabatié-Garat joined RM Europe in 2012 as a Car Specialist after more than a decade in the collector car hobby. Gradua... read more

Barney Ruprecht

bruprecht@rmsothebys.com

+1 203 912 7168
Ontario, Canada

Barney’s interest in classic cars began at an early age after being introduced to his father’s all-original 1965 Porsche 911. Barney l... read more

Cameron Smyth

csmyth@rmsothebys.com

+1 519 352 4575
Ontario, Canada

Cameron Smyth joined RM Sotheby’s as a Car Specialist in 2015, working out of our corporate office and providing assistance on c... read more

David Swig

dswig@rmsothebys.com

+1 415 302 2247
California, United States

David Swig joined RM Sotheby’s West Coast division as a Car Specialist in May 2015. David is a life-long automobile enthusi... read more

Don Rose

drose@rmsothebys.com

+1 617 513 0388
United States

Don joined RM in 2006 after several years of professionally trading sports and classic cars, and after earning a reputation as a noted... read more

Donnie Gould

dgould@rmsothebys.com

+1 954 566 2209
Florida, United States

Donnie Gould joined the RM team in 2002 as a partner and Car Specialist after more than two decades in the vintage automobile auction ... read more

Gord Duff

gduff@rmsothebys.com

+1 519 352 4575
Ontario, Canada

Gord Duff began his journey with RM Sotheby’s in 1998. Since then, he has gained an intimate knowledge of a variety of marques a... read more

Jake Auerbach

jauerbach@rmsothebys.com

+1 310 559 4575
California, United States

Jake Auerbach got his start in the automotive industry at an early age, spending his summers during high school working at a classic c... read more

Kurt Forry

kforry@rmsothebys.com

+1 717 623 1638
California, United States

Having worked for Bonhams’ Automobilia department for over 10 years, Kurt Forry joined RM Sotheby’s with more than a decad... read more

Matt Malamut

mmalamut@rmsothebys.com

+1 805 231 6410
California, United States

A long-time car enthusiast and Southern California native, Matt studied Automotive Technology at San Diego Miramar College and complet... read more

Michael Squire

msquire@rmsothebys.com

+44 (0) 20 7851 7070
United Kingdom

Michael Squire joined RM Sotheby’s European Division in the summer of 2016. He comes to RM with a prestigious racing background ... read more

Mike Fairbairn

mfairbairn@rmsothebys.com

+1 519 352 4575
Ontario, Canada

As one of the three founding partners of RM Sotheby’s, Mike has a long-standing interest in the classic car industry. Graduating... read more

Oliver Camelin

ocamelin@rmsothebys.com

+44 (0) 75 0110 7447
United Kingdom

With an extensive background in exotic sports car history and sales, a particular passion for American curves, and fluency in three la... read more

Paul Darvill

pdarvill@rmsothebys.com

+44 (0) 20 7851 7070
United Kingdom

Paul Darvill joined the RM Sotheby’s European team at the beginning of 2015. Paul holds a degree in French and Politics from the... read more

Pete Fisher

pfisher@rmsothebys.com

+1 519 784 9300
Ontario, Canada

Pete Fisher was first introduced to antique cars in high school, working for Classic Coachworks in his hometown of Blenheim, Ontario. ... read more

Shelby Myers

smyers@rmsothebys.com

+1 310 559 4575
California, United States

Shelby Myers grew up with the classic car industry infused into every aspect of his life. He had the unique opportunity to watch the R... read more

Tonnie Van der Velden

tvandervelden@rmsothebys.com

+31 653 84 19 60
United Kingdom

Tonnie Van der Velden joined RM Sotheby’s European division in September 2015 as a Car Specialist. A lifelong enthusiast, Tonnie... read more