The Don Davis Collection

27 April 2013

Previous Next

Lot 156

2007 Bentley Continental GT

  • Chassis no. SCBCR73W37C040466

Sold for $85,250


552 bhp, 6.0-liter DOHC 48-valve W-12, twin turbochargers, six-speed automatic transmission with manual paddle shift, full-time all-wheel drive, four-wheel adjustable independent air suspension, and four-wheel, power-ventilated antilock disc brakes. Wheelbase: 108.1 in.

  • The sporting Bentley for a modern era
  • Mulliner Driving Specification car in Beluga over Beluga
  • Under 18,500 original miles


With the Continental GT, Bentley’s new owner, Volkswagen, was out to prove that enthusiasts of “The Cars from Crewe” had nothing to worry about. The first Bentley built under VW auspices would combine legendary German precision engineering with typically British finishes and handcrafted build quality. It would also offer outstanding performance, capable of accelerating from 0–60 mph in only 4.7 seconds and reaching a top speed a hair under 200 mph. Power-ventilated disc brakes with ABS and four-wheel air suspension, which the driver could adjust to suit driving speed and conditions, made driving the Continental GT hard a safe pleasure.



The result was arguably the most exciting Bentley in a generation, taking the marque close to its racing roots while also retaining the cosseting comfort levels of later models. It revitalized the Bentley name around the world, and as such, it has taken its place among the company’s long roster of legends.



The original window sticker of Don Davis’s Continental GT tells everything one needs to know: Beluga paint and interior, all the usual luxuries (read: everything imaginable), and a host of delicious options. The car was built to Mulliner Driving Specification, which includes 20-inch alloy sports wheels (now replaced with the two-piece chrome wheels as pictured), drilled alloy foot pedals and footrest, a gear lever finished in knurled chrome and leather, and diamond-quilted upholstery embossed with the Bentley name, as well as dark-stained wood veneers. The result is black-on-black-on-black, and while “sinister” may be overused as a descriptor of such cars, it is perfectly appropriate here.



This is a very mean Bentley, and with less than 18,500 miles covered since new in the CARFAX-verified care of its owner, a scarcely used one, as well.

Please contact our exclusive automotive transportation partner, Reliable Carriers, for a shipping quote or any other information on the transport of this vehicle.

Alexander Weaver

aweaver@rmsothebys.com

+1 864 313 6844
California, United States

Alexander Weaver joined RM Sotheby’s in 2011 as a Car Specialist after graduating from Furman University in South Carolina. Born... read more

Augustin Sabatié-Garat

asabatie-garat@rmsothebys.com

+44 (0) 74 1511 4179
United Kingdom

Augustin Sabatié-Garat joined RM Europe in 2012 as a Car Specialist after more than a decade in the collector car hobby. Gradua... read more

Barney Ruprecht

bruprecht@rmsothebys.com

+1 203 912 7168
Ontario, Canada

Barney’s interest in classic cars began at an early age after being introduced to his father’s all-original 1965 Porsche 9... read more

David Swig

dswig@rmsothebys.com

+1 415 302 2247
California, United States

David Swig joined RM Sotheby’s West Coast division as a Car Specialist in May 2015. He is a life-long automobile enthusiast and ... read more

Don Rose

drose@rmsothebys.com

+1 617 513 0388
United States

Don joined RM in 2006 after several years of professionally trading sports and classic cars, and after earning a reputation as a noted... read more

Donnie Gould

dgould@rmsothebys.com

+1 954 566 2209
Florida, United States

Donnie Gould joined the RM team in 2002 as a partner and Car Specialist after more than two decades in the vintage automobile auction ... read more

Gord Duff

gduff@rmsothebys.com

+1 519 352 4575
Ontario, Canada

Gord Duff began his journey with RM Sotheby’s in 1998. Since then, he has gained an intimate knowledge of a variety of marques a... read more

Ian Kelleher

ikelleher@rmsothebys.com

+1 310 559 4575
California, United States

Ian Kelleher began his automotive career immediately following his graduation from Oberlin College with a Bachelor of Arts in Politica... read more

Jake Auerbach

jauerbach@rmsothebys.com

+1 310 559 4575
California, United States

Jake Auerbach got his start in the automotive industry at an early age, spending his summers during high school working at a classic c... read more

Jonathan Sierakowski

jonathan@rmsothebys.com

+1 519 352 4575
Ontario, Canada

Jonathan Sierakowski developed a passion for classic cars while working at a Connecticut restoration shop as a teenager. He graduated with a... read more

Kurt Forry

kforry@rmsothebys.com

+1 717 623 1638
California, United States

Having worked for Bonhams’ Automobilia department for over 10 years, Kurt Forry joined RM Sotheby’s with more than a decad... read more

Matt Malamut

mmalamut@rmsothebys.com

+1 805 231 6410
California, United States

A long-time car enthusiast and Southern California native, Matt studied Automotive Technology at San Diego Miramar College and complet... read more

Michael Squire

msquire@rmsothebys.com

+44 (0) 20 7851 7070
United Kingdom

... read more

Mike Fairbairn

mfairbairn@rmsothebys.com

+1 519 352 4575
Ontario, Canada

As one of the three founding partners of RM Sotheby’s, Mike has a long-standing interest in the classic car industry. Graduating... read more

Oliver Camelin

ocamelin@rmsothebys.com

+44 (0) 75 0110 7447
United Kingdom

With an extensive background in exotic sports car history and sales, a particular passion for American curves, and fluency in three la... read more

Paul Darvill

pdarvill@rmsothebys.com

+44 (0) 20 7851 7070
United Kingdom

Paul Darvill joined the RM Sotheby’s European team at the beginning of 2015. Paul holds a degree in French and Politics from the... read more

Pete Fisher

pfisher@rmsothebys.com

+1 519 784 9300
Ontario, Canada

Pete Fisher was first introduced to antique cars in high school, working for Classic Coachworks in his hometown of Blenheim, Ontario. He att... read more

Peter Wallman

pwallman@rmsothebys.com

+44 (0) 20 7851 7070
United Kingdom

Peter Wallman joined RM Europe in 2007 following nearly two decades in the international advertising industry, where he was based out ... read more

Shelby Myers

smyers@rmsothebys.com

+1 310 559 4575
California, United States

Shelby Myers grew up with the classic car industry infused into every aspect of his life. He had the unique opportunity to watch the R... read more

Tonnie Van der Velden

tvandervelden@rmsothebys.com

+31 653 84 19 60
United Kingdom

Tonnie Van der Velden joined RM Sotheby’s European division in September 2015 as a Car Specialist. A lifelong enthusiast, Tonnie... read more