London

31 October 2012

Previous

Lot 195

2005 Mercedes-Benz CL500 AG Excalibur

  • Chassis no. WDB2153751A042982

Sold for £35,840


302 hp, five-litre V-8 engine, five-speed automatic transmission, front and rear independent suspension, and four-wheel disc brakes. Wheelbase: 113.6 in.

• One of a kind AG Excalibur
• Massive 24- and 30-inch wheels
• Handcrafted interior with Swarovski crystals

The tuning company AG first created the wild and imaginative AG Shark based on the BMW 6-Series. While certainly eye-catching, it was just the beginning for Lithuanian born Audronis Gestautas. His next project was to be even more ambitious. This time, his vehicle of choice was the already capable 2005 Mercedes-Benz CL500. Keeping the chassis and engine intact, Audronis set out to completely redesign the car from the inside out. After the company namesake, it was to be called simply the AG Excalibur.

The project was started in 2008 and took two tireless years to complete. In 2010, the Excalibur, alongside the Shark, was showcased in the test drive pits of Top Marques Monaco. While the M6 derived Shark still resembles a BMW on the outside, the Excalibur’s body has been entirely re-sculpted using Kevlar and fibreglass. From its prominent front grille to the swooping fender flares, Audronis has created a custom car like no other. Aside from the redesigned body, the massive 24-inch front and 30-inch rear custom spinner wheels are truly one of a kind. Custom hydraulic suspension supports the oversize wheels, while equally enormous eight-piston Brembo brake callipers help bring the Excalibur to a stop.

AG has created what can only be described as an ultra-luxurious interior fit only for the most exclusive clientele. Entirely handcrafted, the dash, seats, doors, and headliner have been masterfully trimmed in beautiful beige leather, Alcantara, and limited edition Swarovski fabric. Furthermore, all the buttons and switches have been replaced by Swarovski crystals. The gear knob and camera operating joystick have also been replaced with fabulous, limited Swarovski crystals. Even the custom emblems have been plated in 24-carat gold. Parking the Excalibur is sure to be an event, and as such, there are eight discretely mounted cameras and two interior screens to aid the driver.

Alexander Weaver

aweaver@rmsothebys.com

+1 864 313 6844
California, United States

Alexander Weaver joined RM Sotheby’s in 2011 as a Car Specialist after graduating from Furman University in South Carolina. Born... read more

Augustin Sabatié-Garat

asabatie-garat@rmsothebys.com

+44 (0) 74 1511 4179
United Kingdom

Augustin Sabatié-Garat joined RM Europe in 2012 as a Car Specialist after more than a decade in the collector car hobby. Gradua... read more

Barney Ruprecht

bruprecht@rmsothebys.com

+1 203 912 7168
Ontario, Canada

Barney’s interest in classic cars began at an early age after being introduced to his father’s all-original 1965 Porsche 9... read more

David Swig

dswig@rmsothebys.com

+1 415 302 2247
California, United States

David Swig joined RM Sotheby’s West Coast division as a Car Specialist in May 2015. He is a life-long automobile enthusiast and ... read more

Don Rose

drose@rmsothebys.com

+1 617 513 0388
United States

Don joined RM in 2006 after several years of professionally trading sports and classic cars, and after earning a reputation as a noted... read more

Donnie Gould

dgould@rmsothebys.com

+1 954 566 2209
Florida, United States

Donnie Gould joined the RM team in 2002 as a partner and Car Specialist after more than two decades in the vintage automobile auction ... read more

Gord Duff

gduff@rmsothebys.com

+1 519 352 4575
Ontario, Canada

Gord Duff began his journey with RM Sotheby’s in 1998. Since then, he has gained an intimate knowledge of a variety of marques a... read more

Ian Kelleher

ikelleher@rmsothebys.com

+1 310 559 4575
California, United States

Ian Kelleher began his automotive career immediately following his graduation from Oberlin College with a Bachelor of Arts in Politica... read more

Jake Auerbach

jauerbach@rmsothebys.com

+1 310 559 4575
California, United States

Jake Auerbach got his start in the automotive industry at an early age, spending his summers during high school working at a classic c... read more

Jonathan Sierakowski

jonathan@rmsothebys.com

+1 519 352 4575
Ontario, Canada

Jonathan Sierakowski developed a passion for classic cars while working at a Connecticut restoration shop as a teenager. He graduated with a... read more

Kurt Forry

kforry@rmsothebys.com

+1 717 623 1638
California, United States

Having worked for Bonhams’ Automobilia department for over 10 years, Kurt Forry joined RM Sotheby’s with more than a decad... read more

Matt Malamut

mmalamut@rmsothebys.com

+1 805 231 6410
California, United States

A long-time car enthusiast and Southern California native, Matt studied Automotive Technology at San Diego Miramar College and complet... read more

Michael Squire

msquire@rmsothebys.com

+44 (0) 20 7851 7070
United Kingdom

... read more

Mike Fairbairn

mfairbairn@rmsothebys.com

+1 519 352 4575
Ontario, Canada

As one of the three founding partners of RM Sotheby’s, Mike has a long-standing interest in the classic car industry. Graduating... read more

Oliver Camelin

ocamelin@rmsothebys.com

+44 (0) 75 0110 7447
United Kingdom

With an extensive background in exotic sports car history and sales, a particular passion for American curves, and fluency in three la... read more

Paul Darvill

pdarvill@rmsothebys.com

+44 (0) 20 7851 7070
United Kingdom

Paul Darvill joined the RM Sotheby’s European team at the beginning of 2015. Paul holds a degree in French and Politics from the... read more

Pete Fisher

pfisher@rmsothebys.com

+1 519 784 9300
Ontario, Canada

Pete Fisher was first introduced to antique cars in high school, working for Classic Coachworks in his hometown of Blenheim, Ontario. He att... read more

Peter Wallman

pwallman@rmsothebys.com

+44 (0) 20 7851 7070
United Kingdom

Peter Wallman joined RM Europe in 2007 following nearly two decades in the international advertising industry, where he was based out ... read more

Shelby Myers

smyers@rmsothebys.com

+1 310 559 4575
California, United States

Shelby Myers grew up with the classic car industry infused into every aspect of his life. He had the unique opportunity to watch the R... read more

Tonnie Van der Velden

tvandervelden@rmsothebys.com

+31 653 84 19 60
United Kingdom

Tonnie Van der Velden joined RM Sotheby’s European division in September 2015 as a Car Specialist. A lifelong enthusiast, Tonnie... read more