Hershey

6-7 October 2016

Previous Next

Lot 113

1928 Pontiac Coupe

  • Engine no. P411887
  • Body no. 9636

Sold for $13,750


Series 6-28. Body Style 8250. 40 bhp, 186.5 cu. in. L-head inline six-cylinder engine, three-speed manual transmission, semi-elliptical leaf spring suspension, semi-floating rear axle, and four-wheel mechanical drum brakes. Wheelbase: 110 in.

  • Handsome 1928 model with elegant styling
  • Well-presented older restoration
  • Attractive color scheme and beautiful interior


By 1928, the future was looking bright for Pontiac; after only two years of production, there were 145,000 examples on the road, and by the end of the calendar year, they would be joined by another 130,000. Many changes were implemented for the 1928 model year, both mechanically and visually improving the popular brand. Replacing the Chief mascot was a Brave who resided on a taller, narrower, yet deeper radiator. The headlights were made larger and the front fenders had a deep crown and beaded edges. This bold front-end treatment perfectly complemented the car’s sweeping lines and well-proportioned styling. The frame was all new, as was the front axle, and a new steering gear made the car easier to drive. Engine modifications were extensive, as a new Carter updraft carburetor was mated to a larger intake manifold, a higher compression cylinder head was installed, and a new Oakland muffler was installed.

The handsome coupe offered here was cosmetically restored some years ago in an attractive two-tone brown livery with black fenders and a correct black rubber roof covering. While the restoration has acquired a patina, it is still very presentable and would be appropriate for local and regional touring and shows. The interior is upholstered in button-tufted grey cloth, in very good condition, and boasts an excellent original steering wheel and what appears to be original wood trim throughout. Accessories include varnished wooden artillery wheels and a single rear-mounted spare tire.

A popular, fun, and affordable little collectible with charm and gumption, this Pontiac would be the “chief” of any collection.

Please contact our exclusive automotive transportation partner, Reliable Carriers, for a shipping quote or any other information on the transport of this vehicle.

Alexander Weaver

aweaver@rmsothebys.com

+1 864 313 6844
California, United States

Alexander Weaver joined RM Sotheby’s in 2011 as a Car Specialist after graduating from Furman University in South Carolina. Born... read more

Augustin Sabatié-Garat

asabatie-garat@rmsothebys.com

+44 (0) 74 1511 4179
United Kingdom

Augustin Sabatié-Garat joined RM Europe in 2012 as a Car Specialist after more than a decade in the collector car hobby. Gradua... read more

Barney Ruprecht

bruprecht@rmsothebys.com

+1 203 912 7168
Ontario, Canada

Barney’s interest in classic cars began at an early age after being introduced to his father’s all-original 1965 Porsche 911. Barney l... read more

Cameron Smyth

csmyth@rmsothebys.com

+1 519 352 4575
Ontario, Canada

Cameron Smyth joined RM Sotheby’s as a Car Specialist in 2015, working out of our corporate office and providing assistance on c... read more

David Swig

dswig@rmsothebys.com

+1 415 302 2247
California, United States

David Swig joined RM Sotheby’s West Coast division as a Car Specialist in May 2015. David is a life-long automobile enthusi... read more

Don Rose

drose@rmsothebys.com

+1 617 513 0388
United States

Don joined RM in 2006 after several years of professionally trading sports and classic cars, and after earning a reputation as a noted... read more

Donnie Gould

dgould@rmsothebys.com

+1 954 566 2209
Florida, United States

Donnie Gould joined the RM team in 2002 as a partner and Car Specialist after more than two decades in the vintage automobile auction ... read more

Gord Duff

gduff@rmsothebys.com

+1 519 352 4575
Ontario, Canada

Gord Duff began his journey with RM Sotheby’s in 1998. Since then, he has gained an intimate knowledge of a variety of marques a... read more

Jake Auerbach

jauerbach@rmsothebys.com

+1 310 559 4575
California, United States

Jake Auerbach got his start in the automotive industry at an early age, spending his summers during high school working at a classic c... read more

Kurt Forry

kforry@rmsothebys.com

+1 717 623 1638
California, United States

Having worked for Bonhams’ Automobilia department for over 10 years, Kurt Forry joined RM Sotheby’s with more than a decad... read more

Matt Malamut

mmalamut@rmsothebys.com

+1 805 231 6410
California, United States

A long-time car enthusiast and Southern California native, Matt studied Automotive Technology at San Diego Miramar College and complet... read more

Michael Squire

msquire@rmsothebys.com

+44 (0) 20 7851 7070
United Kingdom

Michael Squire joined RM Sotheby’s European Division in the summer of 2016. He comes to RM with a prestigious racing background ... read more

Mike Fairbairn

mfairbairn@rmsothebys.com

+1 519 352 4575
Ontario, Canada

As one of the three founding partners of RM Sotheby’s, Mike has a long-standing interest in the classic car industry. Graduating... read more

Oliver Camelin

ocamelin@rmsothebys.com

+44 (0) 75 0110 7447
United Kingdom

With an extensive background in exotic sports car history and sales, a particular passion for American curves, and fluency in three la... read more

Paul Darvill

pdarvill@rmsothebys.com

+44 (0) 20 7851 7070
United Kingdom

Paul Darvill joined the RM Sotheby’s European team at the beginning of 2015. Paul holds a degree in French and Politics from the... read more

Pete Fisher

pfisher@rmsothebys.com

+1 519 784 9300
Ontario, Canada

Pete Fisher was first introduced to antique cars in high school, working for Classic Coachworks in his hometown of Blenheim, Ontario. ... read more

Shelby Myers

smyers@rmsothebys.com

+1 310 559 4575
California, United States

Shelby Myers grew up with the classic car industry infused into every aspect of his life. He had the unique opportunity to watch the R... read more

Tonnie Van der Velden

tvandervelden@rmsothebys.com

+31 653 84 19 60
United Kingdom

Tonnie Van der Velden joined RM Sotheby’s European division in September 2015 as a Car Specialist. A lifelong enthusiast, Tonnie... read more